Posted by: zephaniah317 | January 11, 2007

Carefree

1 Peter 5:5-7 (The Message)

But all of you, leaders and followers alike, are to be down to earth with each other, for-

God has had it with the proud, But takes delight in just plain people.

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs.  God’s strong had is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time.  Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.

…how often I try to promote myself to others, rather than being me?  It’s His job, not mine.  It’s the only path to living “carefree before God”.  Put the poser to DEATH.  Be ME.  (now who is that again?  Lord?  Got any ideas?)

Responses

  1. i adore this scripture you posted…
    BUT i do want to point out that when you paraphrased it last night at rehearsal you used the phrase ‘plain and boring’ i don’t know if that is a freudian slip on your part, but just in case you think plain = boring i encourage you to go out and get a plain sheet pizza and vanilla ice cream cone for lunch and see how boring that experience is! (a clue: i don’t think any person is boring — even our plainess is fascinating!)

  2. A small green man in a famous sci-fi movie once said, “Excitement…adventure…a jedi craves not these things.”
    I totally agree with your comment. The point of the “boring” comment is I’ve awakened every morning for a long time now with the sense of dread that feels like “I have to change or else”. While I’m slowly beginnning to tell that feeling to go to hell, I realize that somedays I’m boring BY THE WORLD’S STANDARDS, and I LOVE that about myself, and others who don’t demand anything more from me or anyone else. We need more boring people in the world that don’t mind making the donuts, as Pastor John reminds us.

  3. As I put in my first post on my blog –
    “Be loved for who you are, and also for who you are not.” God does, why can’t others?

    I’m boaring too – we should start a club! 🙂

    You really sparked me to think about this subject, and these things about myself. So, I’m gonna post about it on my blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

