Posted by: zephaniah317 | January 19, 2007

Leadership

From Neil Anderson in Victory Over the Darkness:

“He is the Shepherd and we are the sheep of His pasture.  Sheep need to be shepherded.  I know because as a farm boy in Minnesota, I had the privilege to be a shepherd of sheep.  In the spring after the snow melted, we would herd the sheep along the roadside for them to eat the fresh green grass.  We had to keep them moving or they would eat until they bloated and died.  We chased them from the back, just as an Australian sheep dog barks at the heels of the sheep.While studying in Israel, I watched a shepherd tend his flock on a hillside outside Bethlehem.  The shephered sat on a rock while the sheep grazed.  Then he stood up, said a few words to the sheep and walked away.  The sheep looked up and followed him.  Unlike my experience of chasing the sheep from the back, the shepherds of Israel lead from the front even to this day.  Suddenly, the words of Jesus in John 10:27 took on new meaning to me:  ‘My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow me.'”

God doesn’t chase us from behind (remember that commercial a few years ago, herding cats?).  He puts the path before us, and when it’s time to move, we can move and experience the growth, pain, abundant life, a deeper walk with Him, whatever He has planned, or stay put and remain stagnant.

Same thing in leadership for us, in relationships, church activities, our jobs.  Do we try to push from behind and control, or simply get out in front (where the crossfire is the heaviest, by the way) and lead?  Lord, again today, I lay down my agenda for what I think the path is ahead, and submit to yours.

“And if you wanna hear God laugh, tell him your plans”
-Van Zant, “Get Right With the Man”

Responses

  1. I love that last quote! So true 🙂

  2. how interesting that PJ’s message is about shepherding this week…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

