Posted by: zephaniah317 | January 24, 2007

Divorce

(On a side note, I think blogs are the BEST PLACE to get thoughts down and out of your system…very cleansing)

I’m responsible for problems in my marriage (see previous post).  I am NOT responsible for the divorce I’m going through.  I’m a firm believer in keeping commitments and covenants made to each other and to God.  And, I believe He is, too.  My wife, who I have to admit I think about often but don’t pray for enough, doesn’t subscribe to this belief.  It’s amazing what the enemy can get us believing sometimes.  I’ve also found (through conversations with others on this subject) that it’s also amazing to me how when a woman’s heart shuts down, it shuts down.  Only God can bring it back.

And if you are married, stay married. This is the Master’s command, not mine. If a wife should leave her husband, she must either remain single or else come back and make things right with him. And a husband has no right to get rid of his wife. – 1 Cor. 7:10-11 (The Message)

She’s running.  I know of others doing the same thing.  It’s like God said, “I see that in your heart, let me deal with it, let’s take care of it,” and they run; “No way.”  “I don’t love you.  You don’t want to be married to someone that doesn’t love you, do you?”  It’s irrelevant.  I said, “I do”.  From that moment on, it doesn’t matter what I want anymore.

Only I didn’t say that.  Didn’t step up.  I mean, I might’ve come close to saying it.  I don’t remember anymore.  I’m just waiting for God to do something.  I can’t do anything.  I won’t do anything.  I shouldn’t do anything.  Not for me, for her.  I’ve chased her long enough.  It’s up to God and her.

What consequences does a person face for breaking the covenant?  What do you say to God when you face Him one day?  I shudder to think.

And don’t be wishing you were someplace else or with someone else.  Where you are right now is God’s place for you.  Live and obey and love and believe right there.  God, not your marital status, defines your life. – 1 Cor. 7:17a (The Message)

Why can’t people see who the real enemy is?  he just sits back and laughs at all this manipulation and disposable relationships.  I hate that.  God, come and get Your glory, somehow.

Responses

  1. […] 2nd, 2007 So here I am.  Divorced.  Looking back at my life.  Hmph.  Not a lot of close relationships.  Not a lot of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

