Posted by: zephaniah317 | January 30, 2007

Oneness

“All I do should be based on a perfect oneness with Him, not on a self-willed determination to be godly”.

-Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest

Bullseye.  Got me right between the eyes (of the heart) Sunday morning.  Is determination to be godly a good thing?  By all appearances, yes.  But what’s the heart attitude?  To look good in church?  To be known as a “giant of the faith”, or a “man of God”?  To have a healthy soul, even?  I’d wager that any of these reasons is not a result of oneness with Jesus.  And yet, I find myself in these places, these motivations, attitudes.  Even as I type, the foremost thought in my mind is what y’all are going to say about this post.

Lord, You are number one.  You are enough.

Responses

  1. I think this is the very reason why some may deem me as a little “rebellious.” I can’t fake even in church if I hit a rough patch. I am glad for that as it helps me to continue to be real. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Neil….your a great friend. Just wanted to say that……thanks.

  3. You’re welcome. You’ve blown my cover, though! 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

