Posted by: zephaniah317 | February 13, 2007

Goals vs. Desires

Just for the sake of this post, let’s define goals and desires this way (because I know different folks have different definitions of what these are):  A goal is an acheivement that your self-worth is based upon, and a desire is an event or thing that you really want, but can live without if it doesn’t happen or you don’t get it.

OK, so here I am this morning at 4:30, the day before I leave for Oregon to move my father from assisted living there to assisted living in Texas and then drive home over a 9-day span.  And I can’t fall back to sleep (which is why I’m on my PC writing this post – why just lie there?).  And I find myself going over the above two definitions in my mind.  It seems that everything in my life has been a goal.  My entire self-worth has been based on how well I did in school, whether or not I have a woman in my life, whether or not I perform well musically, have a good job, do well AT the job, have nice toys, whether I’m married or not, pleasing my spouse, being accepted by people, performing well in sports (which I basically stink at about 40% of the time), writing good blogs 🙂 , making sure everything on my upcoming trip goes right so I can tell everyone about it when I get back, you name it.

So, why the uneasiness in my soul this morning, when God has it all?  He gave it all to me, He can take it away.  Everything I listed above is/should be a desire, not a goal.  Neil Anderson put it best in Victory Over the Darkness when he said (and I’m paraphrasing), “the only goal you should have in your life is becoming the person that God wants you to be”.  Now let me apply that to myself:  “The only goal I should have in my life is being God’s child, and let everything else in my life be the fruit of that relationship.”

My self-worth is based on one thing:  I’m God’s child.  I need to be nothing more, and be nothing less.  There are things that need to get done in my life in order to survive, and in order to further His kingdom, but as Mark Hall says in the song “In Me”, “How refreshing to know You don’t need me, How amazing to find that You want me.”  God doesn’t need me, He wants me.  If He needed me in order to further His kingdom, we’d be in a lot of trouble 😉 .

So, with that, I present a new perspective on my trip to Oregon and Texas this week:

“By faith Abraham, when he was called to go out into a place which he should after receive for an inheritance obeyed; and he went out, not knowing whither he went.”—Hebrews 11:8

Responses

  1. i love TX, & i love that book.

    i have really been focused on understanding the fruits of relationship…you put it well. i think you are right, but it is awfully hard to live out for such a simple concept.

    & it is very opposed.

  2. […] One last thought…ever notice the coaches on the sidelines during these games?  I always wonder which kids (there’s that word again) respond better to their coaches:  the ones playing for the guy screaming and cussing at the top of his lungs when they screw up, or the one that wants his players to play well, and win the game, but his life doesn’t depend on it?  Now, hold on a minute, I’m not saying that all these players should get a pat on the back and “that’s OK, I’m OK, you’re OK, we’re all OK” from their coach.  But I can definitely tell when it’s a coach’s goal to win the game, and when it’s a desire.  Need a little clarification on that?  Go here. […]

  3. […] in his voice and language that I struggle with.  I even mentioned the difference between goals and desires, which he has actually taught on at Men’s Group at church.  I was almost having fun.  But […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

