Posted by: zephaniah317 | February 16, 2007

Initiative

From My Utmost for His Highest this morning:

The remarkable thing about spiritual initiative is that the life and power comes after we “get up and get going.” God does not give us overcoming life— He gives us life as we overcome. When the inspiration of God comes, and He says, “Arise from the dead . . . ,” we have to get ourselves up; God will not lift us up.

I’ve noticed this in the past week (finally, after all my years 🙂  ).  We don’t grow if we don’t move, especially when God tells us to.  He will always bring situations into our lives that will require initiative on our part (even pain – well, most of the time, pain, or at least the threat of it – that’s how we grow).  He loves us too much to let us stand still.  I felt this in planning and getting ready for this adventure.  That same old gnawing feeling in my gut that says “I can’t do this”, usually just an emotion that leads to thoughts more than thoughts themselves.  I know this is the enemy and my flesh, but sometimes I have to remind myself to stop my brain from spinning and trust my Heavenly Father.  If we could do it all ourselves, we wouldn’t need HIM.  We do, have to take that first step and trust Him.  He’s never let me down.  If something has not happened the way I thought it should in my life (I mean good things that God and I agree upon), it’s my fault for not taking the first step.

Responses

  1. Googled…
    smokey and the bandit lyrics

    Second hit turns up…
    Possible Smokey and Bandit Lyrics…
    http://www.leoslyrics.com/listlyrics.php?hid=mLm8P6qhS8Y%3D

    From the Album…
    http://www.amazon.com/Smokey-Bandit-2-Original-Soundtrack/dp/B000J563YI/sr=1-1/qid=1171652576/ref=sr_1_1/102-9658039-8480155?ie=UTF8&s=music

    I just had 2 Whoppers and want my bonus points.

  2. Uh, OK, TJ, you commented to Oswald Chambers with “Smokey and the Bandit” lyrics. Hmm…

    Anyway, I should clarify my request. I was thinking of the song that goes “east bound and down……we’re gonna do what they say can’t be done…we got a long way to go and a short time to get there, I’m east bound just watch ole’ Bandit run!”

  3. Sorry, this was supposed to be on a reply to the day before but since you commented here, I will either ask that you somehoe move the comments if you can or I will dual post here and there.

    Anyway…
    http://www.tsrocks.com/j/jerry_reed_texts/westbound_and_down.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

