Posted by: zephaniah317 | February 17, 2007

J & N’s Excellent Adventure – Day 3 – Pics and a Miracle

Good evening from Willits, California!  (don’t know where it is?  Google it like everybody else…I ain’t got the time!  😛  )  We have just drove through the most undoubtedly gorgeous country e’er I have traveled in my long years.  🙂  More pics, less words:

Our noble steeds, Bandit 1 and Bandit 2:
Bandits 1 and 2

It rained again today, some, but not as bad as yesterday – thus, alas, the coast was mostly shrouded from our view.  However, J made the best of it:

The Peaceful Man and the Angry Ocean…

I thought this could have been the place where they filmed the scene from “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade” where Indy’s dad (Sean Connery) gets all the seagulls to fly into the Nazi plane and causes it to crash:

Just imagine a lot of seagulls…

Now, with this next picture, all I have to say is:  why would anyone want to go to the beach with all of these life-ending scenarios in play?!?!?

Danger Will Robinson!

…and yes, in the lower right hand corner of the previous picture, it does say…

I had no idea I was in danger of being washed away on this trip! (who knew?)

Later on, I made a quick stop at the local Elk Lodge…

Come any closer, and you’re dinner, pal…

…while Bandit 2 roared on ahead.  I caught up with him (I TOLD you it was just like the movie!) later on, so we didn’t lose any time.

Here’s one of my Dad, just keepin’ it real:

(How did I get myself into this…we’re dead…)

Oh, did I mention the big honkin’ Redwood trees (I couldn’t get a really good pic)?

Preeettttttyyyyy….

…or the big honkin’ mountains?

Big Sky…finally

Anyway, as we got further into California, it got dark, and I mean DARK.  No towns.  My Dad’s getting tired and hungry, J and I the latter, not the former.  Finally we arrive in this Willits place and it has all the comforts of home, including a Best Western.  Seriously, praise God.  I was starting to worry about driving another 20 miles to the next burgh.

Last but not least, sandwiched in the middle of all of this stuff today was a miracle that I want to talk about for a moment.  We’re moving along nicely early in the day, and I realize I haven’t put in the CD with songs for all the states we’re going to be traveling through, a nice traveling gift from LP and her hubby.  So I stick it in the CD player (this is a 2007 Impala with 900 miles on it), and…poof! the windshield wipers stop working.  Now, the weather is down to a drizzle at that point, but what the heck?!?!?  We stop in a quick lube place, the guy checks the fuses…fuse is good, but no juice to the fuse.  We call On Star, she says go 30 miles back up the road to the Chevy dealership and they’ll be waiting.  Bummer…wrong direction, but whatareyagonnado?  I pull out of quick lube parking lot, and…poof!  windshield wipers activated, captain!  My Dad looks at me and nonchalantly says, “well, I asked the Lord to fix the windshield wipers and He did.”  He then proceeds to tell me of when he was traveling across the country in an RV in the 90’s and something wouldn’t work, and he’d ask God to fix it and he would.  First, there was cynicism, but then the question, “Where has my faith been?”  I mean, really, how often do I ask God to fix something as simple as a windshield wiper?  I mean, can’t He?  Or do I just assume that God wants me to tough things out all the time, so I don’t even ask?  After today, I don’t think He wants that.  Sometimes, but not all the time.  The stinkin’ wipers haven’t missed a beat since, and the weather is supposed to be good the rest of the way, so…I’m still thinking about getting some Rain-X just in case, but something inside is also saying “trust me”.  Maybe it’s nothing, maybe it’s something.  We’ll see.  In any case, I learned (a) my Dad’s a pretty cool man of faith, even if he whines a lot sometimes, (b) I should screen CD’s from friends before playing them in my car – LP, that first song was just bizarre, and I’m still not sure about playing the rest of it, although California Dreamin’ worked OK (I’ve got an 83-year-old man in the car for cryin’ out loud), and (c) I’ve been keeping God in a box – time to see the big picture:  He wants the best for me, which means fun things and cool things some of the time, not just struggles and pain and growth all the time.

If all goes well, we should be in either Barstow, CA or Needles, AZ tomorrow night.  Till then…

Responses

  1. great post!! i LOVE that you made the time to stop on the shore and notice it. i LOVE that you took pictures of the tsunami sign. i LOVE that you saw elk!! your trip with your Dad is sounding more and more Wild at Heart all the time. don’t give up on the CD yet…the oregon song was an anomoly, I promise! (itunes needs to give us longer clips to listen to!) Arizona’s song is from the 70’s so your Dad should be just fine.
    keep on soaking in every God-moment from this trip…we’re praying for you guys.

  2. ps — please do not kill yourselves taking pictures while you are driving

  3. Thanks, LP. We should be on Interstate most of the rest of the way, so (a) we should make better time, and (b) it’ll be easier to take pictures while going in a straight line!


Leave a Reply

Categories

