Posted by: zephaniah317 | February 28, 2007

Where’s Waldo?

Occasionally, my Day Timer will have some pretty profound quotes, which I post here from time to time.  Today’s, however, made me sad.

Nothing can bring you peace but the triumph of principles. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I see what he’s saying, but wow, what a miserable way to live.  Only knowing the One who made you and the love He has for you can bring you peace, peace that passes understanding (Phil. 4:7).

I looked up Mr. Emerson in Wikipedia, and here’s what I found.  He was the son of a Unitarian minister, and the founder of Transcendentalism.  Among the core beliefs was an ideal spiritual state that ‘transcends’ the physical and empirical and is only realized through the individual’s intuition, rather than through the doctrines of established religions.

So, I guess the quote above lines up with his beliefs perfectly.  This would be what John Eldredge would call in his book Waking the Dead “living by the mind instead of by the heart”.  That’s my take based on a total of 15 minutes of research, but, it makes me sad for Waldo.

Responses

  1. he was a real looker, too!

    thanks for the insight on this quote and this author

    i also paused for a moment to ponder how often i bump up against this transcendentaist mindset — longing and living in such a way that my ‘wish dream’ of what my ‘kingdom’ should look like becomes the god in my life. i shudder to think…

  2. I didn’t think of it that way; good insight, there. Definitely puts one in a constant dissatisfaction mindset, I would think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

