Posted by: zephaniah317 | March 8, 2007

Blah

It has not been the best week.  Not the worst, but not the best…

I’ve always told folks here in upstate NY that I’d rather take 10 feet of snow over single-digit temperatures.  Well, we haven’t broken freezing for a few days now, and I actually thought twice about going to play basketball last night for that reason (we lost).  The cupboards (which, in my bachelor state, are never overflowing to begin with) are bare, and I don’t want to go outside to the store to get groceries.  My house, although warm, is so dry that I’m getting dry mouth and a sore throat at night, and I also don’t have the time to go find a humidifier for the furnace.  This happens every year, so I have no one to blame but myself.  So, “Waaaaa!” <insert sound of baby crying here>  🙂

My soon-to-be ex-wife did the same thing with our tax situation that she did last year, i.e., pay me the money I would have gotten if I were single, or we won’t file jointly.  I found out last night that I can’t itemize if she doesn’t (which she has nothing to itemize, so she didn’t), so I owe almost twice as much as I thought I would.  J (remember him?) had good advice though, and I agree with him:  If I would have known about this situation ahead of time, I would have caved again just like I did last year, and enabled her victim mentality one more time.  So, we both think it’s a God thing, actually healthy for her in the long run, and like I kept telling her on the phone, “It’s not about the money”, so now it’s true.  When you get right down to it, it’s only money, and I think there’s another post on that subject coming…

I’ve given up trying to get to work at 6:00 am.  Just can’t do it.  I’m so much more physically and emotionally “with it” when I get that extra hour.

And, I know all this is a part of the growth process, which will never stop, never end until we get to Heaven someday.  <Sigh> how our culture doesn’t get that, how we “plateau” at some point in our lives and stay emotionally/spiritually immature for so long.  My “little sister” at church spoke a profundity the other day which I’m still applying to my life daily:  “the only constant is change”.  Thanks, M.  Seriously.

Saddle up…

Leave a Reply

Categories

