Posted by: zephaniah317 | March 14, 2007

Downtime – Part II

tv.jpg

[Note to the reader:  Everywhere in this post you see the word “vegged”, imagine a 6’8″ blob of humanity perched comfortably in the corner of a sectional sofa with remote in hand, endlessly searching the TV waves for entertainment and emotional medication.  Now, on to our story…]

Last week was “Blah” (see previous post).  I couldn’t wait to get to the weekend.  Friday night came.  I vegged and vegged in front of the TV, with a couple of online Texas Hold ‘Em tournaments thrown in.

Saturday morning came.  Went to a seminar on Discipleship and Follow-Up for the upcoming Franklin Graham festival.  Very “clarifying”, as one of my compatriots said in an email today.  And I came home.  And I vegged and vegged and vegged some more, with a couple more poker tournaments thrown in, and a little practice for worship on Sunday.

Sunday morning came.  Worship was great.  I’m really starting to love God more and more through music and get to a really healthy place.  And I came home.  And vegged and vegged (there WAS basketball on this past weekend, right?).  Did I mention that TBS had a smut-fest of movies slated for  Saturday and Sunday?  “Road Trip” and “Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle” were on both days.  I never stayed on the movies more than a couple of minutes, but it was more than I wanted to see.

Graduated from online poker to live poker at BurningAlive‘s house for a while Sunday night.  Always good to hang out with my friends.

Monday morning came.  And I can say unequivocally that I have never felt closer to crap warmed over in a microwave, physically, spiritually, and emotionaly, than I have the past two and a half days.  Again, I don’t know who else struggles with this, but I believe I have proven my earlier post about downtime.  It has taken me almost three days with the TV turned off (aside from watching a little b’ball at J’s house on Tuesday night – the Tide was playing – they lost to UMass 89-87 in OT, and no, I didn’t stay up ’til 11:30 to see the end of the game) to recouperate .  And while I still haven’t filled my time with reading the Word, or praying as much as I should have, I feel 75% better today.  The hellavision is strictly for March Madness, and after that, that’s it.  I’ve had it.  Somebody keep me accountable to this post.  I mean it.

The house is nice and quiet, and it adds to my inner peace when it’s quiet.  I plan to keep it that way.  Like I said in my earlier post about “Downtime”, who can nourish our hearts better than the One who created them?  I’ve learned my lesson.

Responses

  1. Hopefully you’ll start to feel alittle better, seems as though you’ve been feeling kinda worn out and dragged down for a bit now. I’m sure that God has a good upswing in store for you soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

