Posted by: zephaniah317 | March 17, 2007

This Morning with Oswald Chambers…

This morning’s passage, “The Servant’s Primary Goal”, nailed me.  I mean, nailed me.

“It is not a lack of spiritual experience that leads to failure, but a lack of working to keep our eyes focused and on the right goal. At least once a week examine yourself before God to see if your life is measuring up to the standard He has for you. Paul was like a musician who gives no thought to audience approval, if he can only catch a look of approval from his Conductor.”

I struggle with this, this…getting life/approval from others instead of knowing I already have it from the most important Being in the Universe, the One who created me.  So, giving “no thought” to this is something that’s being re-programmed in me, daily.  Thankfully.  Wonderfully.  May I never do anything to hinder it.  May I find that place in life where I do things out of love for God and others rather than to siphon off approval for my own selfish gain.  May “the chase”, as I call it, end soon.  I can’t end it myself.  The depth of my relationship with HIM is the only cure, the only antidote, the only thing that slows me down.

Responses

  1. in light of this, what do you think of Chambers’ recommendation…

    “At least once a week examine yourself before God to see if your life is measuring up to the standard He has for you.”

  2. Good post brother. May the depth of you relationship with him grow deeper everyday. And as far as LP’s question….the thought scares me to death! ha.

  3. Hmm…that’s a tough one, LP. I hope that Chambers was basically stating, “At least once a week evaluate your spiritual growth rate compared to the growth rate God has for you.”

    I’m a little uneasy with his wording, to be bluntly honest. I do see his meaning, and it’s healthy, as long as the emphasis is on “the standard HE HAS FOR YOU.” A comment like that in today’s culture could really mislead someone with my upbringing. If a person doesn’t see God as a loving, caring Father, but as a performance-driven taskmaster, that statement could really drive a person away.

  4. yep, that was what I was thinking, too. Recently I was having a conversation with Pastor Cr. and he made a statement that shook me all the way down to my wounded, performance-driven, approval-addicted roots. I told him and he replied that he understood. He told me that some of the worst part of the wound is not just that we were unable to see God as a loving Father, but now that we are afraid to receive His standards and expectations for us. This really sunk down in my soul. I realized that I didn’t want to get stuck as a child — although a thoroughly-delighted one, at that — now that I can see how deeply Abba loves me. I want to be able to heal enough to be able to receive His holy expectations of me with a healthy fear of disappointing Him. This is new for me, and it’s what I thought of when I read your quote from Chambers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

