Posted by: zephaniah317 | March 23, 2007

Excuses

I’m not being a copycat, BurningAlive, really.  🙂  This morning’s Oswald  hit ME, but also gave me confirmation (note:  the link will probably show the current day’s devotional, which might not be the one I’m talking about – which is March 23rd’s; just FYI).

When I discover a sin area in my life, or God points it out, or someone else points it out, what’s my first reaction?  To quote Mr. Chambers, “Oh, I can explain that.”  Whereas “A child of the light will confess sin instantly and stand completely open before God.”

So, honestly, I’ve been learning to do that lately.  It’s not like God can be fooled or anything, anyway.  He sees the depths of my heart, knows that my first instinct is to cover up, hide, just like Adam and Eve did.  But, thanks to Jesus’ blood, I can walk “boldly into the throne room of grace,” (Heb. 4:16) and say, “Yep, I did that/I do that; I’m sorry.” And the coolest thing is, I’m not the one who cleanses my heart and soul:  “When the light shines and the Spirit brings conviction of sin, be a child of the light. Confess your wrongdoing, and God will deal with it.”  Give it to Him, and He takes care of it.  And I can feel/sense that when it happens.

I could go into a dissertation on why my first instinct is to hide, but I’ll suffice by saying that it’s a hard process to get out of, one that constantly requires a realization that “God’s not like that” when my perception of Him is one of rejection and condemntation; and God’s patient in that process, too.

No more excuses…

Responses

  1. I agree with you fully…. when God puts his finger on something you need to give up to him, there’s no time like the present. The faster we can admit our sin and agree that we need Christ to cleanse us the better off we are.

  2. Only you and God can know where you are at.


Leave a Reply

Categories

