Posted by: zephaniah317 | April 9, 2007

Failure

The very credentials these people are waving around as something special, I’m tearing up and throwing out with the trash – along with everything else I used to take credit for.  And why?  Because of Christ.  Yes, all the things I once thought were so important are gone from my life.  Compared to the high privilege of knowing Christ Jesus as my Master, firsthand, everything I once thought I had going for me is insignificant – dog dung.  I’ve dumped it all in the trash so that I could embrace Christ and be embraced by Him.  I didn’t want some petty, inferior brand of righteousness that comes from keeping a list of rules when I could get the robust kind that comes from trusting Christ – God’s righteousness.  -Philippians 3:7-9 (The Message)

I want to be an utter and complete failure at everything the world calls important in my life.  I don’t want to chase after anything today that God does not have planned for me – scratch that; I don’t want to chase after anything today.  Following God is not a frantic chase.  It’s all about abiding in Him.

Nothing matters to me anymore than the health of my heart, knowing God, and helping others see His love through me.  I’m working way too hard at being me, or maybe what I see as what the world thinks I “ought to be”.

I want to love what I do more than loving excelling at what I do.  I don’t want to be a “good husband” (someday);  I want to continually realize that I’m a child of God, and continually point my wife to God for the needs of her heart, be there for her, listen to her (hoo boy – there’s a tough one), and let God’s love flow through me to her.  I don’t want to be a “great musician”; I want to realize that I’m a child of God who plays music, and love doing it.  I don’t want to further myself at my job; I want to let God do it (1 Peter 5:6).  I don’t want to be a “great leader”; I want to be a follower of Him who created everything.  I don’t want to have lots of stuff; I want to continually realize that I’m a child of God that has been blessed with everything I need to live, and it’s all His anyway.

He doesn’t care about all our earthly stuff, how well we do things, even how “well” we love others, as long as we love others.  He died for our hearts.  Not our stuff or our abilities.  God, thanks for loving us right where we are spiritually, physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Responses

  1. this sounds more like victory than failure….

  2. Give that lady a cigar! 🙂

    That’s my point. Failure in the world’s eyes is success in the Father’s.

  3. Thanks for this post…it sent me to Romans 4.
    “…’Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.'” – NIV – and the Message states, “…’He trusted God to set him right instead of trying to be right on his own.'”
    And then to the ‘Hall of Faith’ in Hebrews 11. Some of those people weren’t considered successful or victorious – especially those in vs. 36 & 37! But vs. 38 says “the world was not worthy of them” -something we aspire to have said about us simply by default when we set our eyes on and faith in Him alone. Thanks for sharing your heart.

  4. Thanks for the encouragement. It’s easier said than done somedays…but I’m getting there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

