Posted by: zephaniah317 | June 15, 2007

Random Thoughts – God, His Sense of Humor, and the Spurs

God is big.  Question it?  Take a plane ride sometime.  Put all the doubts about evolution and all that crap away (for good if possible), and just look outside the window.  Awesome.  Above the clouds.  God is big.

God loves me.  Let that sink in.  John Ortberg in his book The Life You’ve Always Wanted says that “God is the happiest being in the universe.”  Try spending a day remembering that.  Throw away the fire and brimstone crap.  I’ve heard that all my life.  I used to struggle with the whole “God, if you love me, why would you send me or other people to such a horrible place?!?!”  Then one morning, in the shower, God said to me, “Neil, Hell’s not hell because of all the fire and depression and wailing and darkness.  Hell is hell because I’m not there.”  Now take the converse of that.  If that’s why hell is hell, think how awesome God must be, how good a deal He is.  God loves me.  I realized the other day that I had never read my favorite verse in The Message.  Here it is:

Your God is present among you, a strong Warrior there to save you.  Happy to have you back, he’ll calm you with his love and delight you with his songs.  (Zeph. 3:17, The Message)

God loves me.  The Gospel is not a “tool God uses to convict people of their sin.”, which I heard in a sermon recently.  The Gospel is the good news that God loved me enough to die for me.  Go beyond that.  God’s love is measureless.  Incomprehensible.  Unconditional.  Let that sink in.  God loves me.

God has a sense of humor.  I’m in Seattle this morning on business.  When I landed on Wednesday, I upgraded from Intermediate to an SUV, as is my habit on business trips.  Usually only costs a few dollars a day, and with my size (see the “About Me” page), I’m more than happy to pay out of my own pocket (although my employer just recently started actually charging me).  Well, this time, all they had was a black Ford Expedition.  I used to own one of these; I had to get rid of it because it was above my budget, but they’re great for a big guy like moi’.  So I called a couple of friends and rubbed it in.  I had no problem being the chaffeur for this trip.  I was feeling pretty proud and high on myself, to be honest.

And last night we had a flat.  And God put me in my place.  And I loved it.  AAA had to come and change the tire while my dinner was getting cold.  God has a sense of humor.

And lastly…GO, SPURS, GO!!!  WORLD CHAMPS!!!

duncan.jpg

I’m a big Spurs fan.  Know why?  Because their star player (Tim Duncan, above), is so humble.  You never hear about his salary.  He’s stayed with the same team for his entire 9-year career.  You never see him in a commercial.  He just brings his lunch pail to work every day and wins.  Moreover, they play like a team.  You know, passing the ball?!?!?  I think it’s so sad that the NBA is full of players that think only of themselves, and more of their salary than winning a championship.  Here’s a thought:  The Kobe’s and LeBron’s of the world can’t win a championship on their own.  They need better players around them.  So, why not forfeit their NBA salary for the rest of their career and allow their teams to get them some decent players?  Before you think I’m nuts, think about this:  shoe contracts and endorsement deals are usually 7 to 10 times the amount of their NBA salary.  They would still be living quite well.  So why don’t they take a pay cut, even?  Because it’s all about the money.  Sad.  And stupid.  They’ve still got more money than they’ll ever spend.

Congrats, Tim, Tony, Manu, and the rest of you guys.  You deserve it.  Don’t change.  Ever.

P.S.  Stephen A. Smith asked Tim Duncan if he was going to Tony Parker’s wedding (yeah, yeah, whatever…he’s getting hitched to Eva Longoria in a month or so, in France, where Tony is from; I give it three years, tops, just because it’s a celebrity marriage).  Tim said no, he’s got a little one on the way, and he’s not putting his wife in that flying-cross-country situation while she’s pregnant.  You gotta love this guy.

Responses

  1. “God is the happiest being in the universe.” As soon as I read that I thought of a conversation I had just finished via Skype with my friend in Malaysia. She had shared this quote with me.
    “God is strong enough to exult in monotony. It is possible that God says every morning ‘Do it again’ to the sun; and every evening, ‘Do it again’ to the moon. It may not be automatic necessity that makes all daisies alike; it may be that God makes every daisy separately, but has never got tired of making them. It may be that He has the eternal appetite of infancy; for we have sinned and grown old.”
    G.K. Chesterson

  2. Wow! That’s a great quote. How easily we lose sight of how God is so involved in our lives and every living detail of our world. Great perspective. Thanks!

  3. hey you guys…I just heard that quote again at the Willow Arts Conference. A worship leader from Mars Hill Church in MI, was inspired to write a song based on that quote he read in Chesterton’s Orthodoxy. The song is called “Enchanted” and is found on the album “Worship in Every Direction” from Mars Hill. (go to http://www.musicatmars.com)

    so glad to be back with y’all!


Leave a Reply

Categories

