Posted by: zephaniah317 | June 23, 2007

Good to Be Home

I’ve spent 9 of the last 10 days of my life on business travel.  I’ve been to Seattle and Irving, Texas.  And, man, I’m glad to be home.

The golf was great in Irving.  The food was great at both places.  I got to rent SUV’s in both places (the Yukon I had in TX had a DVD player – not that it matters much for the driver).  Stayed in a hotel in Irving that had a TV in the living room and the bedroom, and a full-size fridge.  Sounds great, huh?

I can’t stand it.

I feel icky.

Like I’ve got “the world” on me, in me, or something.

Example:  a co-worker and I drove for about 45 minutes on Wednesday to play at a golf course we’d never been to before.  It was about a 30 mile trip.  Traffic wasn’t bad.  But there were at least 7.5-10 miles of shopping malls and shopping centers along the way.  Non-stop.  Capitalism run amuck to the nth degree.  And it made me sad.

$450,000 – $1 million dollar homes on the golf course (one course I played was $99 dollars for 18 and a cart, $39 twilight (after 3 pm) rate (whew!)); you know, the ones with the waterfall pools in the back yard that are so small that I couldn’t even take a lap in?  And no yard to speak of?  And it made me sad.

Not to say there aren’t any believers in those homes.  I’m sure there are, and they’re probably humble and honored by how God has blessed them materially, and that’s cool.  But the overall vibe I got from these places (not necessarily the people – the plant in Irving that I visited is full of good folks) is man’s superiority and wealth.  And it made me sad.

It’s good to be home.

Paintball this morning, poker at BA’s tonight, and Sunday – what’s not to like about Sunday?  I’m blessed.  Just give me a t-shirt, jeans, and my bass guitar rig, and I’m fine.  (OK, and my paintball stuff)  🙂

Oh, did I mention we had to stop in Birmingham on the way to Atlanta?  Wish I’d’ve had time to visit my hometown on the layover.  Not one, but two electrical generators went out on the 757 we were flying on, and we had to land.  Finally got to Atlanta an hour and a half late, missed our flight, got re-booked (the lady at the counter was so nice and helpful, I bought her a frappucino) flew to Scranton, drove home, got stuck in traffic/road construction in PA, supposed to be home at 2:30, got home at 8:15.  No luggage.  It’ll be here today.

It’s good to be home.

Responses

  1. Hey (this is actually NOOC’s wife)
    It’s good to have you back – we’ve missed you. Glad to hear the trip went well!
    See you Sunday!
    M

  2. Thanks, WONOOC. Great to be back with y’all. This is home.

  3. […] 24th, 2007 Remember how “icky” I felt over the weekend?  Still felt the same way in church this morning.  Like I didn’t […]

  4. I realized after we talked on the phone during your layover that I totally ignored your comment about generators and such! as you now know I was pretty consumed with wondering, ‘what the heck was B thinking scheduling a poker game for saturday night when he’s supposed to be taking me out on a fabulous date!!” sorry, the self-concern overshadowed any possible concern for you and your travel mishaps!
    btw — i think it’s really sweet that you bought a frapp. for the airport lady…bet that’s never happened before!

  5. Thanks, LP. I actually heard her talking to someone on the phone trying to get us booked and she said she owed the person a frappucino. So when she got done with us, I asked her what she wanted, and she said “Vanilla bean frappucino”. She wasn’t at the counter when I got back, but I left it for her anyway. 🙂

  6. This is the actual No One Of Consequence (is it just me or does that seem like a contradiction of terms??)…

    I remember a visit to Naples, Florida where we directly saw capitalism run amok as well. 30 to 40 million dollar homes right on the beach that were only lived in about 2 months out of the year. It made me shake my head. It made me a little ashamed of our society; I’m not the most financial savvy person, but that kind of a wonton squandering of fantasic financial blessing is incomprehensible to me.

    Your whole travel fiaso…would-drive-me-nuts. But, sound like God placed a little oasis there in the lady at the counter in Atlanta. Good call buying her a frappachino (whatever that is 🙂 )


Leave a Reply

Categories

