Posted by: zephaniah317 | August 15, 2007

Love, Revisited

I read a post on Taste the Sea’s blog the other morning, and commented on it.  Basically had to do with loving people, and how hard it is sometimes, especially when they (a) don’t want it and reject you, or (b) start hanging onto you like those drowning people in those instructional videos on how NOT to save a drowning person.

And then today I thought about it some more.  So what’s going to be my excuse when I stand before God some day?  “But God, you don’t understand, loving people HURTS sometimes, and I didn’t want to get hurt…”  Waaaahhh…I suddenly sounded like a little kid in my head.

If we only love people for what we’ll get in return, is it actually love?  I don’t think so, Tim.

Believe me, I’ve got the market cornered on self-protection.  And yet, when these revelations came to me, a peace settled in.  Think about it…God’s behind us in this endeavor, it’s not like He tosses us out there and demands that we love people.  How else can we be selfless in life unless we’re really walking with Him?  And not only that, how can we love people who are hard to love unless we have God guiding us?  Reminds me of the Steven Curtis Chapman song, “How Do I Love Her?” (this post isn’t about romantic love, like the song is, but you get my point).

In addition, if we’re truly following what God wants us to do in our relationships and how we love other people, isn’t it the best thing for them?  So if they reject it, they’re missing out, and if they get clingy, they’re plugging into the wrong power source.  They’re not being mean or needy, just deceived.  All the more reason to love them.  God’s love is the only thing that can change a heart, whether it’s coming straight from Him, or through us to other people.  Period.

And by love, I don’t mean doing everything to make the person happy.  I think I put that in my original post.  That’s not what they need, necessarily.  Love is tough.  Love is not careful, like walking on eggshells.  It needs to be accepted and received.  From God.  From others.  Both of the (a) and (b) scenarios I described above can be VERY draining if we’re not plugged into the right power source (uh, God, in case you don’t get it).

What would have happened if Jesus had the same stance I did about rejection?  We wouldn’t be living in the age of grace, that’s what.

Sorry about that, Dad.  Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

Categories

